5 Things I wish I knew when I started coding.

5 Things I wish I knew when I started coding.

Hello, World!

For Today's post, I wanted to talk about those 5 things I wish I knew and look into account when I started learning how to code.

Always remember these tips. Always! There will be so many times when you'll doubt your skills, really. Remembering these are more useful than you think. Even try to note those down onto a post-it or something!

It's okay to "Cheat".

Impostor syndrome can hit hard sometimes. Yet, remember that it's okay to search on google how to declare a variable, center a div.

We're all humans, and literally, nobody can learn all of the syntaxes of a language. Just use Google.

firmbee-com-31OdWLEQ-78-unsplash.jpg

You learn by doing

Paying $500 for a class than thinking you know how to genuinely code is foolish. You learn by doing. Find what you like, then do a project about it. That's how you'll learn. Just dive in.

screenshot-www.makeuseof.com-2021.07.15-13_47_39.png

Write comments.

Comment your code. Really. Going on vacation for 2 weeks then coming back at your code and getting lost happened way too many times. Avoid this, and write comments.

print("Hello, world !");
## Commenting this because 
## I'm dumb and won't know 
## what "print" is in a few
## weeks.

No need to be a math genius.

I'm not a math genius. I don't even consider myself to be good at maths. Though I do write decent code. Except if I'm diving super deep into Machine Learning. I usually don't need maths. And if I do, there is Google.

thisisengineering-raeng-GzDrm7SYQ0g-unsplash.jpg

No need for fancy $3000 PC

Don't get fooled by the hype. A computer with internet access, your brain, and a desk is enough. The desk isn't even needed. Just start now. Don't wait to get yourself a cool RGB setup with 3 monitors.

jannis-brandt-4mHaSX8zvJI-unsplash.jpg

If you have any other tips you wish you knew when you started learning to code, share them in the comments! I'll be glad to read them.

Have an amazing day, folks. :)